Sunday, December 22nd, 2019

AL national council concludes with new committee

Published 12:00 am | December 22, 2019

The 21st National Council of the ruling Awami League ended today with forming a new committee and amending several sections of the party constitution.

Sheikh Hasina has been reelected the president while Obaidul Quader as the general secretary.

They were reelected president and general secretary of AL respectively for the next three years at the council session of the national council held at the auditorium of Institute of Engineers, Bangladesh (IEB) today.

Sheikh Hasina has been elected president for the 9th consecutive term while Obaidul Quader elected general secretary for the second time.

AL Presidium Member Advocate Abdul Matin Khasru proposed Sheikh Hasina’s name as the president, while Presidium Member Pijush Kanti Bhattacharya seconded it.

The name of Obaidul Quader was proposed as AL general secretary by Jahangir Kabir Nanak which was supported by Abdur Rahman.

Three-member Election Commission Chairman Advocate Yusuf Hossain Humayun declared Sheikh Hasina reelected as the AL President and Obaidul Quader as General Secretary as nobody contested for the posts.

Other members of the commission are Dr. Mashiur Rahman and Professor Saidur Rahman.

Earlier, Sheikh Hasina began the activities of the council session along with Obaidul Quader at the IEB auditorium here at 10.30am.

At the outset of the session, Sheikh Hasina delivered the welcome address as the party President while General Secretary Obaidul Quader read out the organizational report.

Later, Thakurgaon district AL President Md Sadeq Kuraishi, Rajshahi district AL President Miraj Hossain Mollah, Khulna district AL General Secretary Sujit Adhikari, Patuakhali district AL President Kazi Alamgir, Sylhet City AL President Masud Uddin Ahmed, Cumilla North district AL President Ruhul Amin and Bandarban district AL President Kya Shoi Hlla, among others, addressed the session.

In the council session, section 25 of the party constitution has been amended and through this amendment Awami Matsyajibi League has got the status of an associate organization of the Awami League.

On the other hand, the number of advisory council members of the party has been increased to 51 from 41.

Awami Ainjibi Parishad has been renamed as Bangabandhu Awami Ainjibi Parishad.

The post of assistant secretary of central sub-committee of AL has been dissolved and a new post named central sub-committee member has been created. Each sub-committee will have five members.

Later, Awami League President Sheikh Hasina announced the names of presidium members, joint general secretaries, organizing secretaries and secretariat members.

All of the presidium members of the outgoing committee have retained their posts in the new committee.

Former shipping minister and labour leader Shajahan Khan has been inducted in the new committee as a presidium member, while two joint secretaries of the previous committee Advocate Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Abdur Rahman have also been promoted as presidium members in the new committee.

The presidium members who have retained the posts are Sajeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Begum Matia Chowdhury, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Mohammad Nasim, Kazi Zafar Ullah, Advocate Sahara Khatun, Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, Pijush Kanti Bhattacharya, Nurul Islam Nahid, Dr Mohammad Abdur Razzaque, Lt. Col. (Retd.) Muhammad Faruq Khan, Ramesh Chandra Sen, Advocate Abdul Mannan Khan and Advocate Abdul Matin Khasru.

The new committee has got two new joint secretaries. They are Information Minister and outgoing committee’s Publicity and Publication Secretary Dr Hasan Mahmud and Organizing Secretary AFM Bahauddin Nasim.

The two other joint secretaries of the outgoing body – Mahbub-ul Alam Hanif and Dr Dipu Moni – have retained their posts.

Organising secretaries of the outgoing committee – Ahmed Hossain, BM Mozammel Haque and Abu Sayeed Al Mahmud Swapan – have remained in the same posts of the new committee while outgoing central committee members SM Kamal Hossain and Mirza Azam have been promoted as organizing secretaries of the new committee.

Office secretary of the outgoing committee Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap has been made publicity and publication secretary of the new committee while Barrister Biplab Barua has been promoted to the post of office secretary from deputy office secretary.

Dr Shammi Ahmed, Delwar Hossain, Engineer Abdus Sabur, Mrinal Kanti Das, Harunur Rashid, Asim Kumar Ukil, Shamsunnahar Chapa, Dr Rokeya Sultana, Faridunnahar Laily and Sujit Roy Nandi have retained their secretariat posts for International Affairs, Forest and Environment, Science and Technology, Liberation War Affairs, Youth and Sports, Cultural Affairs, Education and Human Resources, Health and Population Affairs, Agriculture and Cooperatives, Relief and Social Welfare respectively.

The outgoing committee’s central members Advocate Nazibullah Hiru and Meher Afroz Chumki have been made legal affairs and women affairs secretaries in the new committee respectively.

New Parliamentary Board and Local Government Nomination Board of the party have also been formed in the council.

Sheikh Hasina announced the names of a nine-member Awami League Parliamentary Board (ALPB) and a 17-member Local Government Nomination Board.

The ALPB members are – Sheikh Hasina, Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Abul Hasnat Abdullah, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Kazi Zafar Ullah, Obaidul Quader and Md Rashidul Alam.

Meanwhile, the members of Local Government Nomination Board are- Sheikh Hasina, Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Abul Hasnat Abdullah, Kazi Zafarullah, Mohammad Nasim, Dr Mohammad Abdur Razzaque, Lt. Col. (Retd.) Muhammad Faruq Khan, Obaidul Quader, Md Rashidul Alam, Mahbubul Alam Hanif, Dr Dipu Moni, Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Abdur Rahman and Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap.

Besides, names of 40 members of the advisory council were announced. They are Dr SA Malek, Abul Maal Abdul Muhith, Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Advocate Md Rahmat Ali, HT Imam, Dr Mashiur Rahman, Prof Dr Alauddin Ahmed, Advocate Yusuf Hossain Humayun, Barrister Shafique Ahmed, Syed Abu Nasar Advocate, Satish Chandra Roy, Prof Dr Abdul Khaleque, Prof Dr Ruhal Haque, Engineer Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Kazi Akram Uddin Ahmed, Advocate Syed Rezaur Rahman, Professor Dr Anupam Sen, Prof Dr Hamida Banu, Prof Dr Md Hossain Mansur, Prof Sultana Shafi, AFM Fakhrul Islam Munshi, Ambassador Mohammad Zamir, Golam Mowla Nakshabandi, Dr Mirza MA Jalil, Dr Pranab Kumar Barua, Maj Gen (retd) Abdul Hafiz Malik, Prof Dr Saidur Rahman Khan, Prof Dr Gowher Rizvi, Md Rashidul Alam, Architect Yeafesh Osman, Kazi Sirajul Islam, Makbul Hossain, Mozaffar Hossain Paltu, Adv. Abdul Baset Majumder, Mukul Bose, Salman F Rahman, Inam Ahmed Chowdhury, Ataur Rahman and Joynal Abedin Hazari.

Rest of the posts will be announced later.

Earlier on Friday Prime Minister and Awami League President Sheikh Hasina inaugurated the 2-day triennial national council of the party at the historic Suhrawardy Udyan.

Work for upholding people’s confidence and trust: PM


Matched Content

দৈনিক সময় সংবাদ ২৪ ডট কম সংবাদের কোনো সংবাদ, তথ্য, ছবি,আলোকচত্রি, ভিডিওচিত্র, অডিও কনটেন্ট কপিরাইট আইনে র্পূব অনুমতি ছাড়া ব্যবহার করা সর্ম্পূণ বেআইনি। সামাজিক যোগাযোগ মাধ্যমে যে কোন কমেন্সের জন্য কর্তৃপক্ষ দায়ী নয়।