Tuesday, July 14th, 2020

AL’s Shaheen Chaklader wins in Jashore-6 by-polls

Published 11:05 pm | July 14, 2020

best online newspaper

Online Desk : Awami League nominated candidate Shaheen Chaklader has unofficially been elected winner in Jashore-6 (Keshabpur) by-election. He received 1,24,003 votes with ‘Boat’ symbol.

BNP-backed Alhaj Abul Hossain Azad who contested the by-election with the ‘Sheaf of Paddy’ symbol bagged 2,012 votes.

Jatiya Party candidate Habibur Rahman, who contested with the ‘Plough’ symbol got 1,678 votes. A total of 1,374 ballot papers were declared invalid.

The number of voters in the constituency were 2 lakh 3,018. The voting was held from 9:00am to 5:00pm without any break.

Assistant Returning Officer Bazlur Rahman said Shaheen Chaklader, who contested the by-election with the ‘Boat’ symbol was unofficially elected receiving 1,24,003 votes.

Eighteen executive magistrates, RAB, police, Ansar members were deployed for holding the voting at 79 polling centres peacefully in the by-polls.

Matched Content

দৈনিক সময় সংবাদ ২৪ ডট কম সংবাদের কোনো সংবাদ, তথ্য, ছবি,আলোকচত্রি, ভিডিওচিত্র, অডিও কনটেন্ট কপিরাইট আইনে র্পূব অনুমতি ছাড়া ব্যবহার করা সর্ম্পূণ বেআইনি। সামাজিক যোগাযোগ মাধ্যমে যে কোন কমেন্সের জন্য কর্তৃপক্ষ দায়ী নয়।