Tuesday, August 11th, 2020

Eight MPs die in 8 months, JS didn’t hold janaza five of them

Published 8:12 pm | August 11, 2020

dainik somoy sangbad

Online Desk : As many as 13 members of parliament (MP) died since the 11th National Parliament elections held on December 30, 2018. Of them, eight died in last eight months alone.

Meanwhile, 15 MPs died during five years of last parliament session. Tow including a former MP died of coronavirus of the present parliament session.

Five MPs died in last year and the rest eight in this year while all of them except two were Awami League MP.The parliament source said Kishoreganj-1 MP Syed Ashraful Islam died before the start of parliament session. He could not even take the oath.

Awami League MP Mozammel Hossain (Bagerhat-4) died on January 10, Abdul Mannan (Bogura-1) on January 18, Ismat Ara Sadeq (Jessore-6) on January 21, former land minister Shamsur Rahman Sharif (Pabna-4) on April 2, Habibur Rahman Mollah (Dhaka-5) on May 6, former health minister Mohammad Nasim (Sirajganj-1) on June 13, former home minister Advocate Sahara Khatun (Dhaka-18) on July 10 and on July 26 Israfil Alam (Naogaon-6)on July 27 this year.

Among them, Mohammad Nasim and Israfil Alam died of coronavirus.

Due to COVID-19 outbreak, namaj-e-janaza of the last five MPs was not held at the South Plaza of Jatiya Sangsad in accordance with the tradition.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina expressed her deep shock over the passing of the Awami League MPs and said it was very painful for her as she had lost some fellow leaders one after another within a very short period of time.

Matched Content

দৈনিক সময় সংবাদ ২৪ ডট কম সংবাদের কোনো সংবাদ, তথ্য, ছবি,আলোকচত্রি, ভিডিওচিত্র, অডিও কনটেন্ট কপিরাইট আইনে র্পূব অনুমতি ছাড়া ব্যবহার করা সর্ম্পূণ বেআইনি। সামাজিক যোগাযোগ মাধ্যমে যে কোন কমেন্সের জন্য কর্তৃপক্ষ দায়ী নয়।