Wednesday, February 17th, 2021

Union Parishad polls to begin on April 11 under first phase

Published 11:42 pm | February 17, 2021

best online newspaper

Online Desk : Election Commission (EC) has decided to hold elections to 323 union parishads (UPs) on April 11.The election schedule will be announced in the first week of March. The decision was taken at a meeting of the EC on Wednesday.

EC Secretary Humayun Kabir Khandker disclosed it to reporters following the meeting.

He said voting to 323 UPs under 63 upazilas in 20 districts of the country will be held on April 11. There are about 4,500 UPs across the country and voting will be held in phases there.

Under the first phase, electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be used in 41 UPs. These UPs will be selected by the 10 regional election offices.

Voting will also take place in the rest nine municipalities on the same day using EVMs. The municipalities are Jhalakati, Langalkot, Bhanga, Chakaria, Sonagaji, Kabirhat, Maheshkhali, Setabganj and Debiganj.

The secretary said the EC’s goal is to hold elections in a free, fair, acceptable and participatory manner.

Like last time, voting will be held under the party symbol for the post of UP chairman.

Matched Content

দৈনিক সময় সংবাদ ২৪ ডট কম সংবাদের কোনো সংবাদ, তথ্য, ছবি,আলোকচত্রি, ভিডিওচিত্র, অডিও কনটেন্ট কপিরাইট আইনে র্পূব অনুমতি ছাড়া ব্যবহার করা সর্ম্পূণ বেআইনি। সামাজিক যোগাযোগ মাধ্যমে যে কোন কমেন্সের জন্য কর্তৃপক্ষ দায়ী নয়।