Thursday, August 22nd, 2019

Grenade attack case paper book to be ready within 2-4 months: Anisul

Published 12:04 am | August 22, 2019

Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Anisul Huq today said the Supreme Court authorities are preparing
paper book of August 21 grenade attack case for holding hearing on jail appeals and death reference at High Court and it will be ready within two- four months.

“You need to hold hearing on death reference at the High Court to execute the death sentence, the same rule is applicable for the convicts sentenced to life imprisonment. Before holding hearing on death reference, it is needed to prepare paper book and it is getting prepared. The work will be done within two- four months. After that the matter would come on the cause list for holding hearing,” he said.

The minister said these while talking to newsmen at his office here in the secretariat in the capital. Anisul Huq further said the government is working to bring back all the fugitive convicts, including Tarique Rahman, in the two cases filed over the barbaric attack in 2004.

“I hope it would be possible to bring back all the fugitive convicts within shortest possible time by overcoming all the difficulties,” he added. Meanwhile, Attorney General Mahbubey Alam yesterday said they would take initiative to start the hearing once the paper book gets ready in the two cases.

“We would take initiative to hold hearing on jail appeals and death reference once the paper book gets ready. I would take the initiative and would file application, if necessary, to hold the hearing,” he told BSS. Earlier on January 13, the High Court accepted appeals filed by the convicts in two cases filed over August 21 grenade attack for hearing.

A Dhaka court on October 10, 2018, sentenced to death to 19 people including former state minister for home minister Lutfuzzaman Babar and life imprisonment to another 19 including BNP acting chairman Tarique Rahman on August 21, 2004 grenade attack charge.

Judge Shahed Nuruddin of Dhaka’s Speedy Trial Tribunal pronounced the judgment ordering Tarique to be exposed to prison for life term along with 18 others and sentenced 19 people including Lutfuzzaman Babar and ex-deputy minister Abdus Salam Pintu and several former army intelligence officers to death penalty.

The court found all the 49 guilty and sentenced to different jail terms for the attack that killed 24 people and wounded some 500 others, crippling some of them for life.

The judge also made 12-point observations on the background, motive and consequences of the attack, mainly targeting incumbent Prime Minister and the then opposition leader Sheikh Hasina, who narrowly escaped the assault sustaining wounds.

The death penalty convicts are: Lutfuzzaman Babar, Salam Pintu, Mawlana Tajuddin, intelligence officials Major General (retd) Rezzakul Haider Chowdhury and Brigadier General Abdur Rahim, transport operator Md Hanif,
militants Mowlana Sheikh Abdus Salam, Abdul Mazed Bhat, Abdul Malek, Shawkat Osman, Mohibullah, Abu Sayeed, Abul Kalam Azad, Jahangir Alam, Hafez Abu Taher, Hossain Ahammed Tamim, Moin Uddin Sheikh, Rafikul Islam and Md Uzzal.

Other then Rahman, the political figures who were handed down life imprisonments are — ex-premier Khaleda Zia’s the then political adviser Haris Chowdhury and former BNP lawmaker Qazi Shah Mofazzal Hossain Kaikobad.

The others to serve the life term prison are — militants Shahadat Ullah alias Jewel, Abdur Rouf, Sabbir Ahmed, Arif Hasan, Hafez Yahia, Abu Bokor, Ariful Islam, Mohibul Muttakin, Anisul Mursalin, Mohammad Khalil, Jahangir
Alam Badar, Mohammad Iqbal, Liton, Shafikur Rahman, Abdul Hai and Ratul Ahmed Babu. They all were fined Taka 50 thousand each in the case lodged under Explosive Substances Act.

The court also sentenced Lutfuzzaman Babar, Abdus Salam Pintu, Mowlana Tajuddin, Major General (retd) Rezzakul Haider Chowdhury, Brigadier General Abdur Rahim, Md Hanif Mowlana Sheikh Abdus Salam, Abdul Mazed Bhat, Abdul Malek, Mowlana Shawkat Osman, Mohibullah, Mowalana Abu Sayeed, Abul Kalam Azad, Md Jahangir Alam, Hafez Mowlana Abu Taher, Hossain Ahammed Tamim, Moin Uddin Sheikh, Md Rafikul Islam and Md Uzzal to 20-year imprisonment and fined Taka 50,000 each in case lodged under Explosive Substances Act.

In the same case, the court sentenced Tarique Rahman, Haris Chowdhury, Qazi Shah Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury Kaikobad, Mufti Shafikur Rahman, Mufti Abdul Hai, Shahadat Ullah, Mowlana Abdur Rouf, Mowlana Sabbir Ahmed, Arif Hasan, Hafez Mowlana Yahia, Abu Bokor, Ariful Islam Arif, Mohibul Muttakin, Anisul Mursalin, Md Khalil, Jahangir Alam Badar, Md Iqbal, Mowlana Liton, and Ratul Ahmed Babu to 20-year imprisonment and fined Taka 50,000 each.


Matched Content

দৈনিক সময় সংবাদ ২৪ ডট কম সংবাদের কোনো সংবাদ, তথ্য, ছবি,আলোকচত্রি, ভিডিওচিত্র, অডিও কনটেন্ট কপিরাইট আইনে র্পূব অনুমতি ছাড়া ব্যবহার করা সর্ম্পূণ বেআইনি। সামাজিক যোগাযোগ মাধ্যমে যে কোন কমেন্সের জন্য কর্তৃপক্ষ দায়ী নয়।