Friday, January 24th, 2020

10 win Bangla Academy Literary Award

Published 9:48 pm | January 24, 2020

Online Desk ; Ten personalities have been chosen for the Bangla Academy Sahitya Puroshkar (Bangla Academy Literary Award) 2019. Bangla Academy Director General Habibullah Siraji announced the names at a press conference at the academy’s Poet Shamsur Rahman Auditorium on Thursday.

The award recipients are former Home Minister Rafiqul Islam (Literature on Liberation War), Makid Haider (Poetry), Wasi Ahmed (Literature), Swarochish Sarkar (Essay/Research), Khairul Alam Sabuj (Translation), Rahim Shah (Children’s Literature), Ratan Siddiqui (Drama), Nadira Majumder (Science Fiction), Faruk Moinuddin (Autobiography/Travelogue) and Simon Zakaria (Folklore).

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will distribute the award among the recipients at the inaugural ceremony of the month-long Amar Ekushey Book Fair on February 2.

The winners will receive a cheque for Tk 2 lakh and crests each.

Bangla Academy Sahitya Puroshkar is given by the Bangla Academy of Bangladesh in recognition of creative genius in advancement and overall contribution to the field of Bengali language and literature.

This year marks the diamond jubilee (60 years) of this prestigious award, which was launched in 1960.

A total of 307 litterateurs have so far received the award.

Matched Content

দৈনিক সময় সংবাদ ২৪ ডট কম সংবাদের কোনো সংবাদ, তথ্য, ছবি,আলোকচত্রি, ভিডিওচিত্র, অডিও কনটেন্ট কপিরাইট আইনে র্পূব অনুমতি ছাড়া ব্যবহার করা সর্ম্পূণ বেআইনি। সামাজিক যোগাযোগ মাধ্যমে যে কোন কমেন্সের জন্য কর্তৃপক্ষ দায়ী নয়।