Wednesday, August 26th, 2020

PM opens 100pc power coverage in 31 upazilas Thursday

Published 11:55 pm | August 26, 2020

best online newspaper

Online Desk : Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is set to inaugurate cent percent electrification in 31 upazilas of the country alongside newly built two power plants, 11 grid sub-stations and six transmission lines on Thursday, reports BSS.

“The premier will open cent percent electrification in 31 upazilas of 18 districts, two power plants, 11 grid sub-stations and six new transmission lines through a virtual conferencing from her official Ganabhaban residence Thursday morning,” a source at the Prime Minister’s Office told BSS Thursday.

State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid will be connected to the function from his ministry office.

Director (Public Relations) of Bangladesh Power Development Board (BPDB) Saiful Hasan Chowdhury told BSS on Tuesday that the two power plants to be opened by the premier are: 110 MW power plant of Confidence Power Bogura-1 Ltd and 113 MW power plant of HF Power Ltd, Noakhali.

He said the prime minister will open Mohasthangar 132/33KV, Rajshahi (North) 132/33KV, Chauddogram 132/33KV, Bhaluka 132/33KV, Benapole 132/33KV and Shariatpur 132/33KV sub-stations under the National Power Transmission Network Development Project.

Besides, she will inaugurate Shyampur 230/132KV sub-station under 400/230/132KV Grid Network Development Project, Sherpur 132/33KV and Kurigram 132/33KV under Enhancement of Capacity of Grid Substation and Transmission Line for Rural Electrification Project, Narail 132/33KV under Rural Electrification Project and Rajendrapur 132/33KV under Rajendrapur 132/33KV GIS (Gas Insulated Switchgear) Grid Sub-station Construction Project, Saiful said.

The six transmission lines to be inaugurated by the premier are Patuakhali-(Payra)-Gopalganj 400KV transmission line, Jashor-Benapole 132KV transmission line, Shariatpur-Madaripur 132 transmission line, Tista-Kurigram 132 transmission line, Magura-Narail 132 transmission line and Patuakhali-Payra 230KV transmission line.

The upazilas which are coming under cent percent power coverage are: Nabinagar, Sarail and Ashuganj in Brahmanbaria district, Faridganj and Kachua in Chandpur, Barura and Muradnagar in Cumilla, Bhanga and Boalmari in Faridpur district, Sadullapur in Gaibandha district, Jhenaidah Sadar in Jhenaidah district, Saiful said.

Other upazilas which will be brought under cent percent electricity coverage tomorrow are Manikganj Sadar, Daulatpur, Singair and Shibalaya in Manikganj district, Rajnagar in Molvibazar district, Manda, Dhamoirhat and Sapahar in Naogaon district, Domar in Nilphamari district, Begumganj in Noakhali district, Mirzaganj in Patuakhali district, Rajbari sadar, Pangsha and Baliakandi in Rajbari district, Baghmara in Rajshahi district, Satkhira Sadar in Satkhira district, Zakiganj and Osmaninagar in Sylhet district, Raypura in Narsingdi district and Kalkini in Madaripur district.

“The government is moving fast to achieve its goal of generating 24,000 MW power by 2021 and to this end, the premier has given consent to inaugurate the two power plants, 11 grid sub-stations and six new transmission lines along with 100 percent electrification of 31 upazilas in 18 districts,” Saiful added.

Senior Public Relations Officer of the ministry Mir Aslam Uddin said the prime minister earlier opened cent percent electrification in 257 upazilas, and with the inauguration of 31 upazilas, a total of 288 upazilas will come under cent percent electricity coverage.

“As many as 97 percent people have already been brought under electricity coverage as the country has now a capacity of producing 23,548 MW electricity,” he added.

Matched Content

দৈনিক সময় সংবাদ ২৪ ডট কম সংবাদের কোনো সংবাদ, তথ্য, ছবি,আলোকচত্রি, ভিডিওচিত্র, অডিও কনটেন্ট কপিরাইট আইনে র্পূব অনুমতি ছাড়া ব্যবহার করা সর্ম্পূণ বেআইনি। সামাজিক যোগাযোগ মাধ্যমে যে কোন কমেন্সের জন্য কর্তৃপক্ষ দায়ী নয়।